Park of Colfiorito

Park of Colfiorito


italiano : english : deutsch : espanol : japanese

  • ニュース
  • ラストミヌッツ
  • ルート
General Information

How to reach the park
By traino, Railway station Foligno-railway line Rome -Ancona of the Italian railway company Ferrovie dello Stato FF.SS.
By car or regular service bus, S.S. Flaminia from Terni-S.S. 75 bis from Perugia- S.S. 77 Val di Chienti da Foligno.


Itinerary of the pine forest
The route on the asphalt road ascends up to a not asphalted cartroad on the left, which has to be taken to reach near a building used as a stable, and after having crossed a ditch one reaches the asphalt road to Cesi, near the house called "casa Momo". Keeping left one can take a recommended deviation that takes the wanderer on the peak of the Monte Trella, then he descends again to Cesi where he can take again the main path of the pine forest. For those who do not want to make the deviation the main path goes in parallel to the provincial road through tilled land, shrub woods and reafforestations up to the built-up area of Cesi. Just in front of the village on the right is a well visible dirt road, which crosses the ditch Rio (the border between the regions Marches and Umbria) Proprio di fronte al paese si prende a destra si prende una sterrata abbastanza evidente che dopo aver attraversato il fosso Rio (confine tra le Regioni Marche e Umbria) and then becomes an ascending path, which arrives after some bends at cultivated fields. There one takes on the right a cartroad, initially not well visible but soon becoming more marked, which touches a reafforestation with black pines. The same dirt road crosses the entire pine forest until it arrives at a picknick place, from which one reaches the built-up area of Colfiorito, first on a not asphalted road, then on an asphalted one.
Altimetrical development:
- Difference in level: 263 m uphill and 209 m downhill with the deviation Monte Trella; 75 m uphill and 66 m downhill without deviation.
- Length: 10 km with the deviation Monte Trella; 8 km without deviation.
- Travelling time: 4 h with the deviation Monte Trella; 3 h without deviation.
- Road type: asphalt road, cartroad, path
Useful hints: the route is always well visible and easy to identify thanks to the red-white-red paint marks on trees and rocks: moreover the route is signed with arrows. Along the path stand some boards with information on naturalistic and archeologic emergencies. Just above the built-up area of Colfiorito, before the pine forest, is a picknick place with barbecue, park benches and play ground. In the pine forest is an equipped keep-fit-trail and one can exercise orienteering. Information, material and precise maps at the administration of the Park of Colfiorito.

Via Flaminia
It is one of the most important Roman consular roads and it was the main axis betwenn Rome and north-east Italy. On the stretch between San Giovanni Profiamma (Forum Flamini) and Nocera Umbra are important evidences of its lay-out: ruins of a bridge over the river Topino at Pontecentesimo (at thousand miles from Rome); the Viaduct ofi Pieve Fanonica; ruins of a bridge just before Valtopina; a beautiful piece of underconstruction in the locality Capannacce; Ponte Marmoreo behind the railway station of Nocera Umbra Scalo; a stretch of underconstruction in the locality of Spugne at Nocera Umbra. From Pieve Fanonica branched off an alternative itinerary to the Flaminia and one alternative to the Via Plestina.
The first one consists of the road that connects Gallano with Giove (villa on the border between the dioceses of Foligno and of Nocera (each with a proper church); the other goes to Valico di Colfiorito, through the built-up area of Franca. Along the first itinerary in the Middle Ages rose Gallano (castle which is mentioned in the Annali by Iacobilli, was promoted county in 1155 by Frederic I for the Robacastelli family, whose wealth was due to their control of the Flaminia and which died out in 1370, while the castle Castello Rale was destructed in 1207). Along the stretch Nucerino of the Flaminia on the border with Valtopina, in the diocesis of Foligno, in the Middle Ages was built the hospital Santa Maria Maddalena Collis Arci.
2 km after Nocera Umbra from the Flaminia branches off the road Clementina, which leads to Passo del Termine (865m), watershed between the river Topino (Tyrrhenian side) and the river Potenza (Adriatic side). This road was built by Clement VII, who restored in part the branch which lead from the Flaminia to Ancona through the Piceno.

park_of_colfiorito_culture versione italiana english version deutsch version version espanola