Sigillo and outskirts
Sigillo is a very ancient village, and the numerous recovered Roman finds show the
importance that it had in the past, being situated along the Via Flaminia.
In its proximity is visible an admirable a Roman work, the Ponte Sapiano,
realised perhaps in the II century B.C., made of great stones to allow the
crossing of the river Fonturci.
A second bridge is Scirca's, also
called Bridge of the Pietronis because of the enormous rocks of which is
composed. Such characteristic put it in Etruscan epoch, while recent
investigations have also dated it around the II century.
The main square of the country is
dominated from the City-hall, almost entirely restructured in 1802, as
many other buildings of Sigillo, seriously damaged by a strong earthquake that
in 1751 threatened the whole territory.
The Sant'Agostino Church rises
on the foundations of the ancient church of Santa Caterina, embellished by a
work of the illustrious autochthonous painter, Ippolito Borghese, the
"Annunciation" of 1617.
Only one building the earthquake didn't
damaged, this is the Church of Sant'Anna, in Renaissance style, now
attached to the Cemetery, near the Via Flaminia. A marvellous portal in stone
surmounted by a rose window embellish the fašade, while at the inside can be
admired notable frescos of Matteo da Gualdo.
Not too far from Sigillo is located one of
the most ancient churches of the Commune, Santa Maria Assunta di Scirca dated
around the XIII century, richly painted by three precious works of Matteo da
Gualdo and from a fresco belonging to the school of the Perugino.
Text and images contained on this page and related linked pages are protected by copyright laws, unauthorized copying is strictly prohibited.