The town San Gemini
The medieval aspect of San Gemini
is well preserved, and the urban fabric faithfully refelcts the nature of an
ancient suburb, sets on a high ground and surrounded by the boundaries, of
which the layout and numerous rests are visible. The main entrance doors of the
city are four, but the one that it directly introduces to the city centre is Porta
, built in the XVIII century.
One of the buildings of greater merit that can be
visited in San Gemini is certainly the St.
. Built in the XIII century in honour of the cult linked to
the figure of St. Francis
visited the city several times. The style is Gothic, with a richly painted
single aisle. Of particular interest is The Crucifixion
created in the XIV century by an artist belonging to
the pictorial movement known as Umbrian
. It's important also to visit the cloister, a refined and elegant
place, which prepares shows and various displays every year.
It's very suggestive also the small Santo
, or at least what remains of it: the apse, the nucleus
around which the city of San Gemini is developed. Near the church have come to
the light precious finds of the Roman world. These are a building, of which
remains the impluvium
and the environments that surround it, but also
two marvellous floors covered by mosaics of the I century. One is covered by
floral drawings and flights of birds, while the other one has geometric forms.
The Convent of Santa Maria Maddalena
is datable around the XI century, even if has suffered various following
interventions, among which particularly incisive were those of the 1700. The Church
of San Giovanni Battista
instead is dated XII century, perhaps risen on a
precedent building of the IV century.
, located on the side of the perimeter to the Palazzo
Pretorio; it is an elegant building of the XVIII century. Palazzo Pretorio
goes back to the XII century, a building that was
centre of the government of San Gemini. A splendid medieval construction, known
also with the names of Palazzo del
or Palazzo Vecchio
, it is
externally decorated with a series of noble coats of arms, while the inside
rooms show the native paintings, among which there's a representation of the Buon Governo
. Beside the building rises
the Torre Esperia
, within the tower
is the Campana delle Adunanze
by Matteo di Orvieto
In San Gemini there's also the summer residence of the famous sculptor Antonio Canova
an imposing building
risen with its tower above the piazza St. Francis
Outside boundaries encircling the inhabited area, there's one of the most ancient monastic Umbrian structures,
already mentioned in some documents of 1036, this is the Abbazia of San
. It reached quite soon a great influence extended at least up to the
XV century. The construction of the fašade is dated back to the XII century as
the marvellous portal, today visible only in copy because the original one has
been transferred to the Metropolitan Museum in New York
decorative elements, among which capitals, marbles and sculptures are
archaeological of Roman and Romanesque origin materials, as for instance the
image of a lion, represented in the action to stop a ram.
Text and images contained on this page and related linked pages are protected by copyright laws, unauthorized copying is strictly prohibited.