The town Foligno
The place symbol of Foligno is
certainly the Cattedrale, erect in honour of San Feliciano,
bishop of Foligno born in 169 and died martyr in 253 during the persecutions of Decio. Initially was constituted as small temple built in the place
where San Feliciano wanted to be buried. In 1100 the inferior part of the
fašade was built, while the superior part was built on commission of the family
Trinci in the XIV century. During the centuries XVIII and XIX, the inside
of the church was almost entirely restructured, thanks to the work of the architect Joseph Piermarini, who
behind precise indications of the Vanvitelli, conferred to the three aisles
an austere neo-classic aspect. In the inside there are two precious works of the
Pupil, Niccol˛ di Liberatore. In the sacristy there's a fresco which
depicts the "Crucifixion", while in a table it's painted the
"Madonna and San Giovanni". From 2001 the Cathedral has again
returned to its ancient shine, when the jobs of restoration returned to the
city the most precious monument damaged by the earthquake of 1997.
In front of the Cathedral rises the City-hall,
erect between 1262 and 1265, while its tower was built in the XIV century. The
Building was more times modified and restored, also because of the earthquakes
that damaged the building. The actual symmetrical and neo-classic aspect is due
to an intervention of the XIX century. The City-hall is connected to the Palazzo
Giusto Orfini, known for being centre of the first city painting
Between the City-hall and the Cathedral,
there's Palazzo Trinci, resulted of the fusion among the various
residences of the family which held up the government of the city of Foligno
during Renaissance epoch. The Building was realised among the end of the XIV
century and the beginning of the XV. The Building entertains inside the
Picture-Gallery, are where preserved among the other works of merit, various works
of the Pupil and Ottaviano Nelli.
The Santa Maria Infraportas Church is one of the most ancient of Foligno. According to the tradition it was
already present at the beginning of the Christianity, when the apostles Pietro and Paolo stopped there. It owes the name to its position between the
ancient and the new boundaries. The fašade is characterised for the arcade
realised in the centuries XI-XII to protect the portal. The inside has three
aisles, which are embellished by numerous works of art as the "Christ
Benedicente", and the frescos showing San Rocco, performed by
Niccol˛ di Liberatore.
To few more than five kilometres from the
historical centre, can be admired the splendid Abbazia of Sassovivo,
probably built to the feet of the Serrone Mount in the XI century to
host a small community of Benedictine monks. The abbey is a real small jewel,
inside which is possible to visit a delicious cloister adorned by the presence
of 128 columns surmounted by arcs.
In the Renaissance Oratory of the Nunziatella,
built in 1494, in a niche, the Perugino painted in 1507 a fresco showing
the "Baptism of Christ", an admirable work of the artistic
talent of the "divin painter."
Text and images contained on this page and related linked pages are protected by copyright laws, unauthorized copying is strictly prohibited.