The museum of Deruta devoted to its
appreciated local production of ceramics, is located in the places of the ex St.
Francis Convent, it possesses a collection of over 6000 pieces and a
library containing over 1300 volumes.
The roots of the museum must be sought in
the distant 1898, when Francesco Briganti had the idea to collect as
much as possible material about the flourishing tradition of the workmanship of
the ceramics of Deruta.
The creation of the museum was since the
beginning tied to a very modern conception, being conceived as a sort of
didactic classroom, that could interest the amateurs, but also artisans and
potters that would have been able to appreciate this way that marvellous
products, preventing the progressive exhausting of the long history of the
workmanship of the majolica.
Through a lot of rooms and the many found
pieces it is possible to follow the handicraft and industrial development that
the workmanship of the ceramics has had during the centuries at Deruta, telling
in the meantime an important moment of the life of the community.
Text and images contained on this page and related linked pages are protected by copyright laws, unauthorized copying is strictly prohibited.